Can you hear me, Major Tom?

The first week of fatherhood is making me feel like Major Tom, floating around in a tin can looking at Earth from above. It helps that the only cd we have in the car is David Bowie’s Greatest Hits 1969-74. “Space Oddity” really used to creep me out when I was a kid. It would come on the radio as I was falling asleep (I always fell asleep with the clock radio tuned to 98 Rock Baltimore) and just give me the weirdest dreams. That and REO Speedwagon’s “Can’t Fight This Feeling,” still my least favorite song of all time. Though it does still give me the willies. I wonder why.

Here’s the moogish early version with trippy video, circa 1969. Methinks Major Tom could’ve used a good dentist.

4 thoughts on “Can you hear me, Major Tom?

  1. I recall a similar dreaminess from my early days of fatherhood. The stars did look very different. Nothing seemed quite real. I think the sleep deprivation must help prolong that quality.

    Congratulations again, Marc. And to the mother. Enjoy it all. Your baby! Amazing!

  2. You’d almost think he’d written the song after the birth of his son, Duncan, but he wasn’t born until 1971. I bet he saw 2001: A Space Odyssey, but it’s a startlingly apt metaphor anyway. Thanks again, Peter.

  3. “Kooks” from Hunky Dory is a great Bowie song about parenthood, incidentally. Also, “Can’t Fight this Feeling” is my least favorite song ever too!

Leave a Reply

