My favorite Yo La Tengo song

I love the way this one reverberates. I think they ran a Farfisa organ through a guitar and then fiddled with the wha-wha…or at least that appeared to be what Ira Kaplan was doing on stage when I saw them play in NYC circa ’96. I also saw Richard Thompson that year, probably my last great year of concert-going before I stopped being obsessive about music and transferred my obsession to books. Oh, well.

Play the softer version with dozing infants in the room.

About Marc Alan Di Martino

I'm a skeptical poet, blogger, columnist, occasional cartoonist, atheist, kvetcher and all-around lovable mensch - in precisely that order. I live in Italy, a country in serious need of skeptics and secularists who will challenge the status quo. Kind of like the United States and most places on earth.
This entry was posted in Marc's Record Collection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My favorite Yo La Tengo song

  1. Joe says:

    Amy and I saw them in Manhattan with you in ’95. I remember Lambchop opened, and Electropura had just been released. Same show?

    • Marc says:

      Could have been. My impression is that it was ’96, at a club on 23rd St. Where did you guys stay? I didn’t even have a couch for you to crash on in ’95, as I myself was couch-crashing.

  2. Joe says:

    We stayed at a really low-rent place that you had recommended in Manhattan, where we had to shower in the hall. And correct, we did not see your apartment. It was when you lived with the batty lady.

  3. Marc says:

    Oh, the Bird Lady. Now I recall. What an adventure.

Leave a Reply

