Popes say the darndest things

Hemant Mehta at the Friendly Atheist has found some merit in my whimsical little cartoon depicting Joseph Ratzinger as an alcoholic. I’m a bit confused as to why he seems to have enjoyed it while so many others told me they were perplexed at its “message.” Did Ratzinger say/do something recently that would connect him with such an utterance? No. I think some people are looking too deeply at it for an explanation that, well, explains. I suppose there is none in any proper sense. It just makes you laugh or it doesn’t. It made me laugh when I drew it, so I naively assumed it would make others do the same.

I learned from this article how New Yorker cartoonists sit on shpilkes each week hoping the editors buy their work. Most everything they draw is rejected in the end. But it’s the way they conjure them up that I find fascinating. You maybe have an idea or a phrase which has funniness potential, then you start drawing stuff to see what works. Sometimes it doesn’t, and that’s ok.

Hemant is right, though: you could put anything into a pope’s mouth and it would come out funny (did I just write that? It must be the influence of the Skepchicks.)

Leave a Reply

